Production Skills (week 1)

In week one of this project I learnt how to make an object look like it is glowing in 3DS Max by adding a pulsing glow effect, and also I learnt how to make an object look like it has something inside it. I applied these skills to the 3D model of the tesseract that I made. To make the tesseract look like there was something inside it I added layers I had crated in Photoshop using paint to create a pattern that looks to the center of the tesseract so that it looked like it had a cloud of energy inside of it. I positioned these layers at different angles and positions in the center so that it didn’t create just one shape. To create the effect that the tesseract was glowing I selected the self illumination check-box and set the index of refraction to -1 and then used the key-frames to select when the tesseract would be illuminated and when it wouldn’t.

I could apply these skills to my project if I needed to create an object that needed to glow slightly, for example if I was creating a model of a weapon that used the tesseracts power and had a part that glowed like the tesseract.

I did not encounter any problems when I was applying these skills as they were simple processes and I was able to do them easily with only a little help.

If I were doing this again I would do the pattern I made in Photoshop different so that it looks more like energy and when its placed in the center of the tesseract it looks more like a cloud so that it creates a better effect.

We also talked about interactivity and everything we will need to include to make our dossiers interactive, by engaging the audience in the product through things like buttons and icons. Also we discussed navigation of our interactive materials and how we will need to make it easy to navigate for everyone.

 

One thought on “Production Skills (week 1)

  1. Liam, your progress with your blog is very encouraging. Your posts are becoming more detailed and well-structured. You are clearly growing in confidence!

    Like

Leave a Reply

