Development Diary Week 6

This week for the development of my Final Major Project I created character bibles for my four characters, I wrote the first draft of my script, and listened to and deconstructed an episode of the Bunker Buddies podcast.

For my character bibles I researched what information I needed to include about them. Once I had done this I thought about each characters likes and dislikes, as well as their strengths and weaknesses to help me get to know the characters. I also thought about their different personalities and their backgrounds, so that I would know what kind of person they are which will help me write the script and also help me when acting as these characters, and describing to anyone else acting what kind of person they need to be.

 

 

 

 

 

Once I had created my character bibles and knew my characters I started the first draft of my script. This was challenging because I want my finished product to be no longer than five minutes, so I had to make sure that the script would not take longer than five minutes. Also I want it to be funny so I had to try and make it funny with the dialogue and additional things that are happening in the background. Also getting each characters personality a chance to be shown off is difficult in the time frame I want the podcast to fit into.

Script Zombie Radio Show

After I had completed the first draft I listened to an episode of Bunker Buddies and deconstructed it. To do this I was thinking about things like what music they used and why, any sound effects they used and why, and if they talk about things in first or third person. I deconstructed Bunker Buddies because it is a podcast series that discusses apocalyptic events but with humour which is the style I want my podcast to be, and by deconstructing an episode I can learn about how I can present my podcast and learn the kind of things I can include in it to make it funny, such as music. From doing this I learnt how I can present my podcast and make sure to include the other guests on my podcast, as this podcast features more than one person. I also learnt how I can use music for comedy, as this podcast has music that juxtaposes with the subject they are discussing and that is something I want to include in my podcast.

I also researched techniques for character development and story development. The information I found out doing this helped me create my characters and develop them, and also helped me write my script as I learnt how I can keep the story progressing. My research into story development will help me as one piece of advice I found was to wright about my experiences, and although I don’t have experience in a real zombie apocalypse, I have seen a lot of zombie films and TV shows, and I have also listened to some radio shows so I can use my knowledge of these to help me when writing abut a radio show in a zombie apocalypse. Another way this research has helped me is I now know that it is important that I have a them for my story that will influence everything the characters do, as this will also allow me to think about each character and what will motivate them. I also learnt about story questionnaires, which are questions about the story and characters, and about how the audience should respond to the story and characters. This will help me when I’m writing the scripts as I will be thinking about how the audience should be feeling at each point of the script which will help me write a script that will be as appropriate as possible for my target audience and make them feel what I want them to feel. From researching character development I learnt that it the character bible I create will be useful in developing those characters through the story as I will know their key information and what motivates them, which will make them easier to develop throughout my script.

The scripts and characters I have created do meet the requirements set by my original idea as I have created a radio show where people talk about zombies and give advice to people which is what I set out to create. The information I found out from my research will be very helpful to me as it will make developing the story and characters easier now that I know useful tips for development.

None. (2015). Development. Available: http://thescriptlab.com/screenwriting/story/development#. Last accessed 19th May 2016.

None. (2015). Theme: Three Points. Available: http://thescriptlab.com/screenwriting/story/development/25-theme-three-points. Last accessed 19th May 2016.

None. (2015). Story Questionnaire. Available: http://thescriptlab.com/screenwriting/story/development/26-story-questionnaire. Last accessed 19th May 2016.

Melanie Anne Phillips. (2010). Be a StoryWeaver – NOT a Story Mechanic!. Available: http://dramaticapedia.com/2010/02/07/be-a-storyweaver-not-a-story-mechanic/. Last accessed 19th May 2016.

Michael Esser. (2016). Characters 101: The Importance of Weaknesses. Available: http://www.liferichpublishing.com/AuthorResources/Fiction/Importance-of-Weakness-in-Characters.aspx. Last accessed 19th May 2016.

None. (2016). Character Development. Available: http://writingcenter.tamu.edu/Students/Handouts-Guides/Guides-(What-Are-You-Writing-)/Creative-Writing/Character-Development. Last accessed 19th May 2016.

Fun, M. (2016) Haitian zombies: LIVE! Available at: http://www.maximumfun.org/bunker-buddies-andie-and-travis/haitian-zombies-live (Accessed: 17 June 2016).

RJBlain (2013) Creating a story bible: Characters. Available at: http://www.rjblain.com/2013/01/creating-a-story-bible-characters/ (Accessed: 18 May 2016).

Arts, eh. and Entertainment (2015) How to write a character bible. Available at: http://www.ehow.com/how_2049246_write-character-bible.html (Accessed: 18 May 2016).

Leave a Reply

