Unit 11

Reflection of Year One

To ensure I get the most of my second year of this course and to make me think about what I do when I finish college I reflected on my first year. I was thinking about what I learned and enjoyed, and what my goals were at the start of the year compared to the end, and what my short term, mid-term, and long-term career goals are.

In my first year I learnt how to create models in 3DS Max and then texture those models and render them to put them in a video game engine. I also learnt how to use Photoshop to manipulate images and create assets for graphic work. In addition, I learnt about composition and the rule of thirds in photography, and how to adjust the shutter speed and aperture on a camera. I also learnt about design and how to layout things, like the dossier pages I created last year. One thing I learnt a lot about last year was sound and recording techniques such as Foley and sound editing. I think my strengths last year were sound related. The scripts I wrote for the various sound projects I was doing were all good and in the Age of Napoleon project, my script used appropriate language for the time. The sound I recorded was all at a high quality however, I think I could have edited some of it better. My weaknesses last year were in 3D modelling and graphic design as in 3D I was not very good at creating realistic looking objects and my texturing was very basic and in graphic design m layouts were not very good most of the time and the colours and font I used were not always the best.

Last year I enjoyed all of the work we did with sound, particularly learning about Foley as I thought it was interesting actually getting to try doing Foley, as it was quite hard to think of what object could make the required sound and then making sure that I was in time with the footage. I also enjoyed using 3DS Max as I liked seeing an object come together even if I was not good at it.

My goals at the start of the year were to learn more about Photoshop and 3DS Max as I knew we would be using them a lot but I had never used them before, so I wanted to get better at them to improve the quality of my work. My goals evolved during the year to learn more about sound production as I was really enjoying learning about sound and also to improve my graphic design skills as the work I was producing in that did not look good.

My short-term goal now is to research apprenticeships and jobs involving sound production for film and TV and see if there are any that I would be interested in doing. In addition, I want to research the different sound roles there are for film and TV and see which one I would like to do the most.

My medium term goals are get an apprenticeship or work experience in sound production to prepare me for a career in that area.

My long-term goal is to get a job in sound production or post-production as they are the areas of sound I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

